Over 18 / Emancipation

Your divorce and child custody agreements are final, get practical tips for moving on with your life after divorce.

Over 18 / Emancipation

Unread postby Street Glide CVO » Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:04 pm

Now that my son has turned 18 can I openly discuss the details of our divorce and details of the child custody with him?

I am I able to make childs support payment directly to my 18 year old son directly?

Are there any legal implications if I was to offer my son the remaining sum of child support payments for the remaining 3 years that I have to pay in echange of him emancipating himself? I would rather see the money go to him.

I am a resident of New York State
Street Glide CVO
First Post

Re: Over 18 / Emancipation

Unread postby Tom Kirkpatrick » Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:15 pm

Where does S-18 live now?? Has he graduated high school?? Is he fully self-supporting?? Is he going to college??

Street Glide CVO wrote:Now that my son has turned 18 can I openly discuss the details of our divorce and details of the child custody with him?
Why would you want to do that??

Tom
Like football, family court is a game of inches. A John Madden strategy
Tom Kirkpatrick
5K+ Posts

Unread postby LovingDadof2 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 7:36 am

Was there infidelity involved? Is he asking or do you want to do this as some sort of revenge against your EX?

If he's asking, what's his motive? Is he upset you didn't see him more? If so, you may be able to gently explain how the court awarded parenting time but I stress gently. I am sure he loves his Mom so you need to take the high road here. What do you want to gain from such a discussion?
LovingDadof2
100+ Posts

Unread postby lovingfatherof2 » Wed Jan 10, 2018 8:02 am

My parents never talked about their divorce in front of us or to us.

When I was 27 I asked both of them what happened, they both told me their sides of what happened.

I'm no worse off knowing what I know now but I was the one to ask.