What to do....

Tips on divorce for men considering or starting the divorce process. Get marriage separation tips for men in this divorce forum and child custody forum.

What to do....

Unread postby fireman4953 » Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:09 pm

I filed for divorce with my wife of 2 years, together for 4 years. During my marriage my wife committed her 3rd DUI and was put into Sobriety Court. She has been sober for over a year and a half now with my complete support throughout. She has 2 children from a previous marriage that we care for and I treat them as my own. I work as a full time firefighter and part time doing safety inspections one or two days a week. I'm very busy and worked very hard for our family. My wife never expressed any appreciation or gratitude for my hard work and she is unable to keep a job for more than a couple months as a part time waitress. For the past six to eight months I grew extremely unhappy with her and developed deep resentment for her. It broke through one night when I came home drunk and pretty much told her everything I was feeling. Wrong way to do it but it boiled over. That was it. We grew even more distant to the point where we both couldn't stand each other. I was willing to go to marriage counseling but she did not. So instead of living a life in hell I filed for divorce. I still love and care for her but I'm not in love with her. At all.