Divorce Jurisdiction

Tips on divorce for men considering or starting the divorce process. Get marriage separation tips for men in this divorce forum and child custody forum.

Divorce Jurisdiction

Postby dacoming » Sat Jun 23, 2012 1:39 pm

Since I am stationed in Germany and my wife and kids are in Colorado, if she files for divorce in Colorado or California when she moves there, I have to agree because neither state has jurisdiction over me. I hear that both states are bad for men in a divorce. I am a resident of North Carolina which I hear is good but she wouldn't have to agree. What should I do? I don't want to get screwed but I don't want things to get more bitter. I've spent this whole marriage trying to accommodate her feelings and look where it got me. I really hope she gets a rude awakening from some dude. She's very pretty and has always had guys cater to her but now she is 41 with extreme jealousy and control issues. She hasn't worked for most of the marriage and has a bad back.
dacoming
10+ Posts

Re: Divorce Jurisdiction

Postby defaultuser » Sat Jun 23, 2012 1:46 pm

If you can influence things, I would try and get it done in CA, over CO. CO is the worst state for mens divorce in the US I believe.

If she finds out that she can get lifetime alimony from CO, you're probably screwed. You could file in NC, but she could probably get the jurisdiction changed to her location unless you guys recently lived in NC.
The List
Read it.
defaultuser

Postby dacoming » Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:02 pm

Thanks for the info! I hear that about Colorado too. We've never lived in NC together; I'm just from there. How many years of marriage is lifetime alimony? I heard it was 20.
dacoming
10+ Posts

Postby defaultuser » Sat Jun 23, 2012 2:06 pm

In CO, I don't think it matters. You could be married a year and be looking at that. Also, if she's 'disabled' it will work against you.