Struggling to make ends meet

Archive of Ask A Lawyer answers provided before April of 2005. Many of these answers can also be found in the current Ask A Lawyer section.

Struggling to make ends meet

Unread postby dadsdivorce » Tue Apr 12, 2005 11:23 am

I live in NYS and have 2 boys who live with their mother. We have been divorced for 10 yrs. I have always paid 25% after FICA per the separation agreement. I gave my ex the house we bought using my parents generous 8k downpayment. She went to family court about 5 yrs ago because I was a few days late with support. I have been paying (wage garnishment) $390 biweekly. That amount was based on a year where I had a lot of overtime, 8K, and my salary has decreased over the last few yrs due to cutbacks, loss of OT etc.

I have been overpaying ($25 bi-weekly) for the past 21/2 yrs and tried to get a downward reduction.The judge would not allow it stating it wasn't enough of a change. My ex even felt bad for me. I pay rent, have bills to pay that make that $50-60 a month difficult to live without. The sad part about this whole ordeal is both my kids work and pay for their own haircuts, and clothes, etc. They seem to spend money like water and I live like a pauper. I have no money left after expenses, and believe me, I don't buy anything I don't absolutely need. I wish there was someway I could get the funds redirected to the kids, especially with college time approaching. The oldest son is 18, and the younger son 16+. I don't know how other father's manage. Thank you for the advice.
dadsdivorce
Site Admin

Unread postby dadsdivorce » Tue Apr 12, 2005 11:24 am